top of page

Search Results

92 résultats trouvés avec une recherche vide

  • Cap à Jack | tidesoftadoussac1

    Tadoussac Historical Photos and Stories - History of Tadoussac Cap à Jack on the Saguenay River 1911-1935 Cap à Jack was a cabin built by Dean Lewis Evans in about 1911. He was a keen fisherman, and he could be closer to his favorite spots early in the morning and in the evening, when the fish are biting. There were many visitors and activities. A cabin to go to from the cottage in Tadoussac! Cap à Jack était une cabane construite par Dean Lewis Evans environ 1911. Il était un pêcheur passionné, et il pourrait être plus proche de ses endroits préférés tôt dans la matinée et en soirée, lorsque le poisson mord. Il y avait de nombreux visiteurs et activités. Une cabine pour aller partir du chalet à Tadoussac! Where was it? Cap à Jacques is the rocky point just below St Etienne, about 9 miles up the Saguenay from Tadoussac. Où était-il? Cap à Jacques est la pointe rocheuse juste en dessous de St Etienne, environ 9 miles de Tadoussac sur la rivière Saguenay. How did they get there? The "Minota" Emily and Lewis Evans and their son Lewis Evans, my father, about 1917 Comment sont-ils arrivés? Le «Minota" Emily et Lewis Evans et leur fils Lewis Evans, mon père, environ 1917 Coming ashore below the cabin in 1912, and today Venant à la rivage au-dessous de la cabine en 1912, et aujourd'hui The Bathing Pool is small natural pool with rocks at the entrance, only accessible by boat at high tide. Recently visited by 'Webbling'! Le bassin de baignade est petite bassin naturel avec des rochers à l'entrée, uniquement accessible par bateau à marée haute. récemment visitée par 'Webbling'! Emily (Bethune) Evans 1913 - some guests, and R Lewis Evans, age 2, and his father Dean Lewis Evans, age 67 Emily (Bethune) Evans and Dean Lewis Evans Lennox Williams, Sydney Williams, and Willie Rhodes, my mother's grandfather le grand-père de ma mère Tea at Cap à Jack, the Dean, and the other fellow is Hal Bethune R Lewis Evans and Cecily Larratt Smith Aunt Vera Bethune, Aunt Marion Bethune, Dad - Dean Lewis Evans, Marjorie Gagnon Emily (Bethune) Evans Dean Lewis Evans died in 1919 at the age of 74 Dean Lewis Evans est mort en 1919 à l'âge de 74 ans circa 1926, R Lewis Evans with his gun, May Carrington Smith, Nan Gale, Ann (Dewart) Stevenson, Maggie(Reilley) Smut the dog, Emily (Bethune) Evans, Kae Evans, the Stevenson sisters, Elizabeth (O'Neill) (note camera), Maggie (Reilley), Ann (Dewart), May Carrington Smith, Nan Gale The Stevenson sisters, Elizabeth (O'Neill), Ann (Dewart), Maggie (Reilley) Kae Evans Marjorique and Basil Evans with fishing gear Cap à Jack was dismantled in about 1935 Cap à Jack a été démantelé environ 1935 43

  • RhodesGrandkids | tidesoftadoussac1

    Grandchildren of William Rhodes, Quebec & Tadoussac, Quebec NEXT PAGE The 18 Tadoussac Grandchildren of William Rhodes and Anne Dunn PREVIOUS This is an amazing collection of photographs of the RHODES Family in Tadoussac, assembled from albums of many families. These folks are our ancestors, the people that enjoyed Tadoussac before we did. You will have heard of most of them, and if you are 40+ maybe you knew them. This page is LONG, hundreds of photos. But it's PHOTOGRAPHS, not much reading involved! Take the time to get to know some great people. This page introduces the older ancestors, the children of William and Anne Rhodes, but focuses on the 18 grandchildren who spent wonderful time in Tadoussac from the 1880's to the 1980's! Of the 18 only 8 have descendants, but there are now about 140 direct descendants who come to Tadoussac, and they have built 16 houses in Tadoussac! You may be one! 18 of the RHODES GRANDCHILDREN Carrie Rhodes Morewood 1881 John Morewood1884 Frank Morewood1886 Catherine Rhodes 1888 Nancy Morewood 1888 Jimmy Williams 1888 Lily Bell Rhodes 1889 Mary Williams Wallace 1890 Charley Rhodes 1890 Gertrude Williams Alexander 1891 Isobel (Billy) Morewood 1891 Frances Rhodes 1892 Dorothy Rhodes Evans1892 Gertrude Rhodes1896 Bobby Morewood 1897 Sidney Williams 1899 Monica Rhodes1904 Armitage (Peter) Rhodes Hargreaves 1909 (Omitted from this list are 5 who died in infancy, and 9 children of Bob Rhodes who lived in the US and didn't come to Tadoussac, so the total is really about 32). Peter de Rodes came from France to England in about 1600 William Rhodes 1791-1869 and Ann Smith -1827 lived in Bramhope Hall, England, near Leeds. Their second son, William Rhodes, moved to Quebec in 1842. He married Anne Catherine Dunn in 1846, granddaughter of Thomas Dunn of Quebec. The Rhodes Family lived at Benmore, Sillery, Quebec They built a summer cottage "Brynhyfryd" in Tadoussac in 1860, which was constantly expanded to accomodate the growing family. This is organized by family First the PARENTS (the children of William Rhodes and Anne Dunn) Then the GRANDCHILDREN William Rhodes (Jr) 1851-1921 Caroline Hibler 1848-1929 William was the third oldest of the five Rhodes boys. He worked for the Baldwin Locomotive Works in Philadelphia, and travelled the world delivering and assembling locomotives. They had one daughter. Carrie Rhodes Morewood 1881-1973 The oldest Grandchild, she was born in Australia, and lived in Doylestown and Bryn Mayr (near Philadelphia), and with her son Bill and his family in New Jersey. She summered in Quebec at Benmore and Tadoussac, and married her first cousin Frank Morewood. She is my grandmother, I knew her well! A lovely lady. Carrie, Frank, Bill and Betty(Evans) Morewood) Harry Morewood 1855-1916 Minnie Rhodes 1857-1942 Minnie was the 6th oldest of the Rhodes children, with 5 older brothers. The Morewood had 5 children, and much of the family lived at the Rhodes family home, Benmore in Quebec, until it was sold in the late 1940's. And of course summer in Tadoussac. Frank Morewood 1886-1949 Frank was an artist and architect, and designed several Tadoussac houses (Windward, Brynhyfryd, Turcot). He married his first cousin Carrie (above) and is my grandfather. They had 2 children, Bill and Betty. John Morewood 1884-1944 Nancy Morewood 1888-1946 Isobel (Billy) Morewood 1891-1977 at right Meeting the boat in Anse a L'Eau with her cousin/sister-in-law Carrie Rhodes circa 1910 Bobby Morewood 1897-1964 below, Bill and Ainslie Stephen, Harry Bob and Frank Morewood, Phoebe Morewood Family Photos Left Bill Morewood and Aunt Billy Morewood Right Aunt Margaret Bill and Betty (Evans) Morewood Bobby Morewood Godfrey Rhodes 1850-1932 Lily Jamison 1859-1939 Godfrey was second oldest, and he trained with his brother William in industrial mills in Pennsylvania. He inherited from his namesake, Uncle Godfrey Rhodes, and bought Cataraquai, a large estate in Sillery, Quebec, next door to the Rhodes family home Benmore. They had one daughter Catherine. Cataraquai in Quebec Catherine Rhodes 1888-1972 Catherine was very interested in art and an artist herself. She married Percival Tudor-Hart, a well known artist, and they built a large house in Tadoussac . He had two children from a previous marriage. Catherine lived at Cataraquia her whole life. Armitage Rhodes 1848-1909 Ida Alleman 1854-1893 Katie VonIffland 1867-1938 Armitage was the oldest, and had two children Charley and Dorothy (Dorsh) with his first wife, and two daughters with his second wife, Monica and Armitage (Peter). He lived at Benmore and spent a lot of time in Tadoussac at Brynhyfryd. Above Charley Rhodes with his mother in Montreal Charley Rhodes 1890-? Below Charley Rhodes with Uncle Jimmy Rhodes at Benmore Dorothy Rhodes Evans 1892-1977 at right Dorothy with Katie (VonIffland) Rhodes Below with Monica Dorothy Rhodes married Trevor Evans, and they had four children, Phoebe, Ainslie, Trevor and Tim. They bought the cottage Ivanhoe Dorothy (Dorsh) at right with a couple of her grandchildren Bill and Margie Stephen early 1950's at Hovington's Farm Monica Rhodes1904-1985 Armitage Rhodes and his second wife, Katie VonIffland, with Monica Below Monica Rhodes and her grandmother Anne (Dunn) Rhodes Armitage (Peter) Rhodes Hargreaves 1909-1969 above Dorothy, Peter, Katie (VanIffland) Rhodes above 1913 Peter with her grandmother MrsVonIffland below Katie (Von Iffland) Rhodes with Peter and Dorothy Francis Rhodes 1853-1926 Totie LeMoine 1859-1941 Francis was the fourth oldest and married a Québec girl, Totie LeMoyne, of "Spencer Grange", near Benmore, outside Québec. He studied mining and they lived in the US until James LeMoyne died and they came back to Quebec. They had 3 daughters, LilyBell, Frances and Gertrude. Spencer Grange still exists, at 1328, Avenue Duquet, Quebec Lily Bell Rhodes 1889-1975 above Lily and Frances with their father Francis, at the sand dunes Frances Rhodes 1892-1976 below 1916 at Spencer Grange Lily LucyLogan MargaretPrice GertrudeWA 1950 LilyBell and another cousin, Margaret Robes in Boston The third sister Gertrude Rhodes1896-1926 She studied medicine and when she was an intern in a Denver hospital she got sick and died at the age of 30. Nan Rhodes Williams with Lily and Gertrude, only one photo Caroline Anne (Nan) Rhodes 1861-1937 Lennox Williams 1859-1958 Nan was the second daughter, seventh child in the Rhodes family. She married Lennox Williams who became Bishop of Quebec, they lived in Quebec City and had 4 children. Nan inherited Brynhyfryd from her parents. Jim Williams 1888-1916 He is the oldest son of Lennox Williams and Nan Rhodes. Born in 1888, married Evelyn Meredith January 3, 1916. He was killed in the First World War at the Somme in November 18, 1916 at the age of 28. More photos at under the Williams Tab above Mary Williams Wallace 1890 - 1989 Mary and Jack Wallace owned Brynhyfryd for many years. They had one daughter Nan (Wallace) Leggat, and two sons Jack and Michael Wallace. ~1907 MaryWallace with HarrietRoss at left Mary with Robbie Leggat? early 1950's Gertrude Williams Alexander 1891-? Gertrude married Gen. Ronald Alexander and they had three children, Jim Alexander, Jean (Alexander) Aylan-Parker, and Ron Alexander above circa 1900 in front of Benmore below circa 1907 with her aunt Minnie (Rhodes) Morewood and her granny Anne (Dunn) Rhodes Canon Sidney Waldron Williams 1899-1972 Sidney Williams married Enid Price and they had four children, Joan, Susan, Jim and Sheila at right 1913 Donat Therrien, brother Jimmy and Sid The Williams family at Brynhyfryd circa 1914 Mary Syd Jim Evelyn Lennox&Nan Gertrude The Sidney/Enid Williams family circa Mary Syd Jim Evelyn Lennox&Nan Gertrude Do you think you are done? You are not! There's more Rhodes Grandchildren, mostly having fun together in Tadoussac! Keep going to the next page>>>> 190 NEXT PAGE

  • Windward

    Windward, Tadoussac Quebec PREVIOUS Windward NEXT PAGE Frank Morewood (1886-1949) and Carrie Rhodes (1881-1973) are both grandchildren of William Rhodes, who built the first Brynhyfryd in Tadoussac in 1860. They both spent summers in Tadoussac with the Rhodes family, in the photo (~1891) below Carrie is 3rd from right, Frank asleep on the right. Frank's family lived at Benmore in Quebec, and Carrie's family lived in Pennsylvania. They married in 1920 and had two children Bill (1921-20??) and Betty (1922-1993), and lived in Bryn Mawr and Doylestown, Pennsylvania. Frank and Carrie Biography www.tidesoftadoussac.com/tadbios/morewood%2C-frank-%26-carrie-(rhodes) Benmore in Quebec www.tidesoftadoussac.com/benmore Frank Morewood (1886-1949) et Carrie Rhodes (1881-1973) sont tous deux des petits-enfants de William Rhodes, qui a construit le premier Brynhyfryd à Tadoussac en 1860. Ils ont tous deux passé des étés à Tadoussac avec la famille Rhodes, sur la photo (~1891) ci-dessous Carrie est 3e à partir de la droite, Frank endormi sur la droite. La famille de Frank vivait à Benmore au Québec et la famille de Carrie vivait en Pennsylvanie. Ils se sont mariés en 1920 et ont eu deux enfants Bill (1921-20 ??) et Betty (1922-1993), et ont vécu à Bryn Mawr et Doylestown, en Pennsylvanie. Frank was an architect and designed a house to be built in Tadoussac in 1936. The location was just east of Brynhyfryd and the Barn, on land that had previously been part of "Dwight Park". The stone entrance which still exists had a wrought iron gate with the name Dwight Park, the gate is in the Molson Museum barns near the lake. Johnathan Dwight died in 1911, and the plaque below sits beside the house. His widow apparently offered the park to the village of Tadoussac, but they refused, so she sold lots to cottagers. In a letter written by Lilybell Rhodes in 1939, there was an interesting note: ...and Mrs. (Johnathan) Dwight were the Tad people present. Mrs. Dwight came up and spoke to me. I would not have known her. She looks so much older (as do we all know doubt). She looked very handsome, but stern and said "you know Frank Morewood has built a house on a bit of my land that he does not yet own". Frank était architecte et a conçu une maison à construire à Tadoussac en 1936. L'emplacement était juste à l'est de Brynhyfryd et de la grange, sur un terrain qui faisait auparavant partie de "Dwight Park". L'entrée en pierre qui existe toujours avait une porte en fer forgé portant le nom de Dwight Park, la porte se trouve dans les granges du musée Molson près du lac. Johnathan Dwight est décédé en 1911 et la plaque ci-dessous se trouve à côté de la maison. Sa veuve aurait offert le parc au village de Tadoussac, mais ceux-ci ont refusé, alors elle a vendu des terrains à des villégiateurs. Dans une lettre écrite par Lilybell Rhodes en 1939, il y avait une note intéressante : ... et Mme (Johnathan) Dwight étaient les personnes Tad présentes. Mme Dwight est venue me parler. Je ne l'aurais pas connue. Elle a l'air tellement plus âgée (comme nous le savons tous en doute). Elle avait l'air très belle, mais sévère et a dit "vous savez que Frank Morewood a construit une maison sur un morceau de ma terre qu'il ne possède pas encore". The photo below shows the bank below the proposed site for the house, just before it was built. The Barn can be seen at upper left. Everyone told the Morewoods they were crazy to build there. Today, 86 years later, the house is 35' from the edge of the bank. The view is terrific. La photo ci-dessous montre la banque sous le site proposé pour la maison, juste avant sa construction. La grange peut être vue en haut à gauche. Tout le monde a dit aux Morewood qu'ils étaient fous de construire là-bas. Aujourd'hui, 86 ans plus tard, la maison est à 35' du bord de la berge. La vue est formidable. The wood arrived on a goélette. The interior of the cottage will be BC Fir. Le bois est arrivé sur une goélette. L'intérieur du chalet sera en sapin de Colombie-Britannique. Painting below by Tom Evans Bundles of cedar shingles for the roof, which lasted over 80 years Peinture ci-dessous par Tom Evans Des paquets de bardeaux de cèdre pour le toit, qui a duré plus de 80 ans right, Carrie Rhodes Morewood below, Frank's mother Minnie Rhodes Morewood Bill Morewood, Ainslie Evans Stephen (hiding), Billy Morewood, Jean Alexander Alan-Parker, Betty Morewood Evans, boys probably Jim Williams and Parkers, Joan Williams Ballantyne, Susan Williams Webster Watercolour by Frank Morewood below Anne and Lewis Evans with grandfather Frank Frank Morewood died in 1949, and the house was passed on to Betty and Lewis Evans for one dollar. We still have the dollar. Frank Morewood est décédé en 1949 et la maison a été transmise à Betty et Lewis Evans pour un dollar. Nous avons toujours le dollar. My parents, Betty and Lewis Evans, were both Tadoussac summer residents, and in 1948, with the deaths of Frank Morewood and Emily Evans, they inherited 2 cottages in Tadoussac. Lewis Evans was a professor, with ample summer holidays, but his family cottage (now the Beattie House) was 80 years old, whereas Windward was on 12 years old, and had better view of Tadoussac Bay so he could keep an eye on his boat! Mes parents, Betty et Lewis Evans, étaient tous deux des résidents d'été de Tadoussac, et en 1948, avec les décès de Frank Morewood et Emily Evans, ils ont hérité de 2 chalets à Tadoussac. Lewis Evans était professeur, avec de nombreuses vacances d'été, mais son chalet familial (maintenant la maison Beattie) avait 80 ans, tandis que Windward avait 12 ans et avait une meilleure vue sur la baie de Tadoussac pour qu'il puisse garder un œil sur son bateau! In 1961 we had an 80th birthday party for Carrie, shown below with Dorothy Rhodes Evans and Anne Evans Belton. Right, Betty and Lewis Evans Circa 1962 we visited Tadoussac at New Year's, at right Lew, Tom, Alan, Anne, the current owners of Windward. Vers 1962, nous avons visité Tadoussac au Nouvel An, à droite Lew, Tom, Alan, Anne, les propriétaires actuels de Windward. Christmas Card Sometimes the shutters were different colours In 1979 two grandchildren had arrived and more were coming, so Betty and Lew built "the Wing", a bedroom and bathroom without all the noise! En 1979, deux petits-enfants étaient arrivés et d'autres arrivaient, alors Betty et Lew ont construit "the Wing", une chambre et une salle de bain sans tout le bruit ! Minke Whale by Tom Evans, only appears in the winter! Minke Whale de Tom Evans, n'apparaît qu'en hiver ! 54 NEXT PAGE

  • Colour! | tidesoftadoussac1

    Photos Historique Tadoussac 1860-1900 Tadoussac The oldest Photographs Les plus anciennes Photographies Photography was invented about 1839, and Tadoussac was a popular subject for well-know professional photographers such as William Notman (father and son) and Livernois from the 1860's. This page is a collection of the early photos, before personal cameras were invented (the first Kodak camera was 1888). The 1860's was a busy time in Tadoussac. The first summer residences were built in the early 1860's. The Tadoussac Hotel, the future Cid store, and the row of 5 houses on the main street were built in 1864. The Protestant Chapel was built in 1867. The old Hudson's Bay Post was on the lawn in front of the Hotel until 1870, which helps with figuring out the dates of the photos! Notice most of the trees have been cut all around Tadoussac! DATES may not be exact, a list of key dates may be found at the bottom of the CONTENTS page (please send dates!) https://www.tidesoftadoussac.com Thanks to McCord Museum, Hotel Tadoussac, BAnQ, and everyone who collects and loves old photographs! La photographie a été inventée vers 1839 et Tadoussac était un sujet prisé par des photographes professionnels reconnus tels que William Notman (père et fils) et Livernois dès les années 1860. Cette page est une collection des premières photos, avant l'invention des appareils photo personnels (le premier appareil photo Kodak date de 1888). Les années 1860 furent une période occupée à Tadoussac. Les premières résidences d'été ont été construites au début des années 1860. L'Hôtel Tadoussac, le futur magasin Cid, et la rangée de 5 maisons sur la rue principale ont été construits en 1864. La Chapelle protestante a été construite en 1867. L'ancien Poste de la Baie d'Hudson était sur la pelouse devant l'Hôtel jusqu'en 1870, ce qui aide à déterminer les dates des photos ! Remarquez que la plupart des arbres ont été coupés tout autour de Tadoussac! Les DATES peuvent ne pas être exactes, une liste des dates clés peut être trouvée au bas de la page CONTENU (veuillez envoyer les dates!) https://www.tidesoftadoussac.com Merci au Musée McCord, à l'Hôtel Tadoussac, à BAnQ et à tous ceux qui collectionnent et aiment les photographies anciennes ! 1860-1900 Maybe before the Hotel was built? Peut-être avant la construction de l'hôtel ? Powel/Bailey House <<<Hanging Beach Cote Ida Hovington Stairs Rectory Evans/Beattie Houses on the beach and a boat being built House on Main Street (right side, now Auberge Galouine) Still 1860's Maisons sur la plage et un bateau en construction Maison sur la rue Main (côté droit, maintenant Auberge Galouine) Toujours des années 1860 One more house on the beach! Une maison de plus sur la plage ! Chapelle de Tadoussac - rectangular windows were replaced with nicer windows, there doesn't seem to be a graveyard yet, still 1860's Chapelle de Tadoussac - les fenêtres rectangulaires ont été remplacées par de plus belles fenêtres, il ne semble pas encore y avoir de cimetière, toujours des années 1860 In the 1860's the Price Sawmill at Anse à L'Eau had been closed for more than 10 years. Below is a 'colourized' photo. Many other photos of Anse à L'Eau at https://www.tidesoftadoussac.com/anse-a-l-eau Dans les années 1860, la scierie Price à l'Anse à l'Eau était fermée depuis plus de 10 ans. Ci-dessous une photo "colorisée". Beaucoup d'autres photos de l'Anse à L'Eau à https://www.tidesoftadoussac.com/anse-a-l-eau CIrca 1860's, the future George Hotel, some new houses, and the Radford House. The lake is much smaller than today, many years before a dam was built. Vers les années 1860, le futur George Hotel, quelques nouvelles maisons et la Radford House. Le lac est beaucoup plus petit qu'aujourd'hui, bien des années avant la construction d'un barrage. The BRIDGE over the ravine is very interesting. Le PONT sur le ravin est très intéressant. A peine étions-nous montés dans la voiture de l'hôtel que nous nous trouvions en train de traverser au grand galop un pont de planches branlant. Les vieilles dames hurlaient de frayeur, tandis que notre Jean, d'une voix tonitruante, nous criait : « Il fait très noir ce soir, si vous voyez où vous êtes, vous faites peur ! Évidemment, ce cocher distingué qui arborait avec tant de désinvolture son vieux manteau miteux devait être natif de l'endroit. Dufferin House (left) was built in 1873 La maison Dufferin (à gauche) a été construite en 1873 circa 1880's some houses have been built on Pointe d'Islet Below a close-up of one of the houses vers 1880 quelques maisons ont été construites sur la Pointe d'Islet Ci-dessous un gros plan d'une des maisons Circa 1880's, my ancestors on the lawn of the Rhodes cottage, many more photos on another page https://www.tidesoftadoussac.com/rhodes-cottage-1 This photo is on a glass plate, there are some cracks and some pieces missing! My G-G-Grandmother Anne Dunn Rhodes in black, and William Rhodes is in the third photo, the only man! Also a baby carriage! Circa 1880's, mes ancêtres sur la pelouse du cottage Rhodes, beaucoup plus de photos sur une autre page https://www.tidesoftadoussac.com/rhodes-cottage-1 Cette photo est sur une plaque de verre, il y a quelques craquelures et quelques morceaux manquants ! Ma G-G-Grand-mère Anne Dunn Rhodes en noir. William Rhodes est sur la troisième photo, le seul homme ! Aussi un landau! Late 1800' s, the Mill has become a Fish Hatchery, and the dock is used for the Steamers, which was the primary method of transportation to Tadoussac. À la fin des années 1800, le moulin est devenu une écloserie et le quai est utilisé pour les bateaux à vapeur, qui étaient le principal moyen de transport vers Tadoussac. Église de la Sainte-Croix built 1885-9, and the hotel was expanded circa 1900, so this is 1890's. Above the main street is an empty sand dune! L'église de la Sainte-Croix a été construite de 1885 à 1889, et l'hôtel a été agrandi vers 1900, nous sommes donc dans les années 1890. Au-dessus de la rue principale se trouve une dune de sable vide ! Anse à L'Eau is still the only dock in Tadoussac, with a new pavilion. L'Anse à L'Eau est toujours le seul quai à Tadoussac, avec un nouveau pavillon. 76

  • Maps,Art&Images | tidesoftadoussac1

    Tadoussac Historical Maps, Drawings, Paintings, Images- History of Tadoussac Early Tadoussac Maps/Images Cartes/Images de Tadoussac Tadoussac Harbour Sounds - Patrick O'Neill 00:00 / 00:00 Turn on SOUND on your computer Sounds from Patrick O'Neill Activer le son sur votre ordinateur Les sons de Patrick O'Neill The small portrait was drawn by Champlain of himself, the only known true image of him. The other portrait was painted 20 years after his death. This map of Tadoussac was drawn by Samuel de Champlain in 1600. He stopped in Tadoussac many times on his trips to Quebec. The map includes the Chauvin settlement of 1600. Le petit portrait a été dessiné par Champlain lui-même, l'image authentique seulement connu de lui. L'autre portrait a été peint 20 ans après sa mort. Cette carte de Tadoussac a été dessinée 15par Samuel de Champlain en 1600. Il a arrêté à Tadoussac à plusieurs reprises lors de ses voyages au Québec. La carte inclut le colonie de 1600 Chauvin. Champlain's map of Canada 1605? Tadoussac is here La carte de Champlain du Canada de 1605 Tadoussac est ici Champlain's map of Canada 1612? Tadoussac is here La carte de Champlain du Canada de 1612 Tadoussac est ici 1628 English under David Kirke in Tadoussac Bay by GA Cuthbertson 1628 Anglais sous David Kirke dans la baie de Tadoussac par GA Cuthbertson Champlain's map of Canada 1632? Tadoussac is here La carte de Champlain du Canada de 1632 Tadoussac est ici Huguenot Trader leaving the Saguenay by GA Cuthbertson Huguenot Trader quitter le Saguenay par GA Cuthbertson !!! In another dimension... CANADA ou NOUVELLE FRANCE south of the Great Lakes and MER DE CANADA !!! Dans une autre dimension ... CANADA ou NOUVELLE FRANCE au sud des Grands Lacs et MER DE CANADA Course map of the Saguenay River as told by les sauvages PITCHITAOUICHETZ Maps and Plans of the Navy 1744 by N. Bellin, Inginieur Navy Carte du Cours de la Riviere Saguenay appellee par les sauvages PITCHITAOUICHETZ Dressee sur les manuscrits du Depost des Cartes, et Plans de la Marine 1744 par N. Bellin, Inginieur de la Marine Montagnais at Pointe Bleue, Lac St Jean This drawing must be very old, showing Montagnais teepees on the plateau where Dufferin House now stands, and the small church and the Hudson's Bay Post in the background. The hotel is not built, maybe 1840. Ce dessin doit être très ancienne, montrant des tipis Montagnais sur le plateau où Dufferin House est maintenant, et la petite église et la Hudson's Bay Post sur le fond. L'hôtel n'est pas construit, peut-être 1840. Montagnais on Indian Rock Montagnais on Pointe d'Islet Montagnais in Murray Bay Hudson's Bay Post in Tadoussac mid 1800's? Merci/Thanks to L. Gagnon & Benny Beattie for maps This painting by Cornelius Krieghoff shows Colonel William Rhodes putting on his snowshoes Somewhere in Quebec Circa 1860 Cette peinture de Cornelius Krieghoff montre Colonel William Rhodes mettant ses raquettes à neige Quelque part au Québec circa 1860 Painting "Calm on the Saguenay" by C J Hay (collection Alan&Jane Evans) at Anse de Roche two natives sneaking up on some ducks - at left, Alan re-enacting behind the same rock, 2014. Peinture "Calm on the Saguenay" par CJ Hay (collection Alan et Jane Evans) à Anse de Roche deux indigènes se faufiler sur des canards - à gauche, Alan rejouant derrière la même roche, 2014. Painting "Squall on the Saguenay" by C J Hay Painting of Pointe Rouge by C J Hay Fishnet off Indian Rock, Pointe Rouge across the bay Filet de pêche près de Indian Rock, Pointe Rouge à travers la baie Late 1860's. Where does this road go? 1860's. Où est-ce que cette route mène? Tadoussac in 1860's by Washington Friend (1820-1866) from the collection of Lewis and Cathy Evans showing the original Brynhyfryd (Rhodes cottage) with the hotel and Hudson's Bay post in the background Tadoussac en 1860 par Washington Friend (1820-1866) de la collection de Lewis et Cathy Evans montrant Brynhyfryd (Rhodes cottage) avec l'hôtel et le Poste de la Baie d'Hudson dans le fond "Rocks on the Saguenay" by Washington Friend (1820-1866) 1865 Tadoussac by Edwin Whitefield from the collection of Michael and Judy Alexander Cid's Store by Tom Roberts 1969 Mosaic in tile and seaglass by Tom Evans 2007 Mosaïque dans carreaux et verre de mer Tom Evans 2007 2009 38

  • Tides of Tadoussac

    Interesting places on the Saguenay River near Tadoussac La Rivière Saguenay Endroits Intéressants Cool Places on the Saguenay River Pointe à la CROIX Pointe à la Croix Pointe à la Croix L'origine de la croix n'est pas connue, mais il y a des références à la Pointe à la Croix dans 2 livres, de 1889 et 1891. La croix a été remplacée au moins quatre fois ! The origin of the cross is not known, but there are references to Pointe à la Croix in 2 books, from 1889 and 1891. The cross has been replaced at least four times! Circa 1930, tea (with china teacups!) on Pt à la Croix, at center my grandmother Emily Evans, and my father R Lewis Evans Vers 1930, thé (avec des tasses en porcelaine !) sur Pt à la Croix, au centre ma grand-mère Emily Evans, et mon père R Lewis Evans This was the old cross that was mounted on Pointe à la Croix, the little point jutting out into the Saguenay River, from the east below the cliffs between Anse La Barque and La Boule bay. This one fell down and somebody put up another...the cross is dated 1941, the vertical piece on which it stood up supported by a pile of rocks was missing at the time we brought it home, about 1971 (tag by Jack Molson). This cross was replaced by R Lewis Evans and Tom Evans in the early 1970's C'était l'ancienne croix qui était montée sur la Pointe à la Croix, la petite pointe qui s'avance dans la rivière Saguenay, par l'est en contrebas des falaises entre l'Anse La Barque et la baie de La Boule. Celui-ci est tombé et quelqu'un en a posé un autre... la croix est datée de 1941, la pièce verticale sur laquelle elle se tenait soutenue par un tas de rochers manquait au moment où nous l'avons ramenée à la maison, vers 1971 (tag de Jack Molson) . Ce croisement a été remplacé par R Lewis Evans et Tom Evans au début des années 1970 The cross fell down again and was replaced by Tom Evans and friends! 2005 La croix est retombée et a été remplacée par Tom Evans et ses amis ! 2005 more coming soon... 11

  • Dean Lewis Evans & May and Emily Bethun | tidesoftadoussac1

    PREVIOUS Dean Lewis Evans May Bethune and Emily Bethune NEXT PAGE The Evans family is in the middle of the Family Tree. Dean Lewis Evans married twice, and his wives were second cousins. May Bethune is the mother of Trevor Evans 1879-1938, who married Dorothy Rhodes 1892-1977, parents of Phoebe, Ainslie, Trevor and Tim. After May died Lewis Evans Sr married Emily Bethune, 20 years younger, and they surprised everyone with another Lewis Evans 1911-1988 (my father). When he was born his mother Emily was 45, father Lewis Evans was 65! Dad's half-brothers were a generation older, he even had a half-nephew who was older than he was. Family Tree Evans Bethune Crooks Ewart Price Molson Carrington-Smith and others A famous name on the tree is Norman Bethune, Canadian physician and medical innovator. He is best known for his service in war time medical units during the Spanish Civil War and with the Communist Eighth Route Army during the Second Sino-Japanese War. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Norman_Bethune When Lewis Evans married Betty Morewood in 1944 it was the second Evans-Rhodes marriage. 25 years earlier his half-brother Trevor had married Dorothy Rhodes, who was first cousin to Betty's mother Carrie Rhodes Morewood! Got it? Emily Bethune's mother was a Ewart, and her grandmother was a Crooks. One relative is John Price (not related to the other Quebec/Tadoussac Prices), Dad's second cousin, who came to Canada from Scotland to go to medical school at McGill in the 1950's, and he often stayed with us in Tadoussac. He married Nancy Beattie. Doris Molson was Dad's third cousin on her mother (Dawson)'s side, she is also related through her father to the Tadoussac Smiths! (so you'll know if anyone asks) Lewis Evans Family, in 1900 and 1918, in Tadoussac Lewis Evans's first wife died in 1903 so say the year is 1900 ABOVE left to right Muriel 1877-1952 (23) Ruby 1885-1947 (15) Trevor 1879-1938 (21 very dapper) May 1848-1903 (52) Basil 1874-1958 (26) (is he a train conductor?) Lewis Evans 1846-1919 (54) unknown girl 2 unknown dogs Lewis Evans died in 1919 so say the year is 1918 BELOW left to right Basil 1874-1958 (44) Emily 1866-1947 (52) (same age as May in other photo!) Kae Evans 1909-2001 (9) Lewis Evans 1846-1919 (72) Miles Hudspeth 1908-2005 (10) Trevor 1879-1938 (39) Muriel 1877-1952 (41) Lewis Evans 1911-1988 (7) Where's Ruby? 1 unknown dog My grandfather Lewis Evans was born in 1846! He graduated from university in Confederation year 1867, and in 1873 he became rector at St Stephen's Church in Westmount, Montreal, where he remained for 46 years, living in the Rectory behind the church. He got married in 1873, and in 1884 he became minister at the Tadoussac Protestant Chapel (35 years). Photos above by William Notman, from the McCord Museum website. St Stephen Church, Westmount, Montreal I have a cigar box Presented to The Very Reverend Lewis Evans DD DCE Dean of Montreal By a few of his old parishioners as a slight token of their esteem and affection for him on the occasion of the 40th Anniversary of his appointment as Rector of Saint Stephens Church 2nd November 1873 1913 Dean Lewis Evans in Montreal, and his second wife Emily with their son Lewis Evans, circa 1912 "The Cottage" ~1915 and 100+ years later Tadoussac Tennis (& Croquet) Club, that's Emily Evans on the right ~1915, and 100+ years later! Cap à Jack 10 miles up the Saguenay, built ~ 1910 and demolished in the 1930's Lots more photos on the CAP À JACK page Cap à Jack Biography of Dean Lewis Evans in the Bios Section https://www.tidesoftadoussac.com/tadbios/evans%2C-thomas-frye-lewis Emily Evans with with her son Lewis Evans and Kae Evans. Lewis Evans has his own page... R Lewis Evans NEXT PAGE

  • Village of Tadoussac, Travel by Steamer | tidesoftadoussac1

    PREVIOUS NEXT PAGE Été à Tadoussac Summer 1920-1940 Page 1 of 7 The Town of Tadoussac La ville de Tadoussac 1933 Travel by Car?? Voyage en Voiture?? Lewis Evans (bachelor schoolmaster) driving to Tadoussac in November 1939, somewhere near St Simeon.... Lewis Evans conduit à Tadoussac en Novembre 1939, quelque part près de St Simeon .... And then the Ferry! Painting by Frank Morewood, about 1930. The goelette at the wharf in Tadoussac is the Pixie B and it towed the barge which could carry two cars. It was replaced by another goelette, built by Armand Imbeau, called the NBT (Noel Brisson Tadoussac) which carried up to six cars on deck. That one was replaced by the Jacques Cartier, a real ferry! Et puis le ferry! Painting par Frank Morewood, circa 1930. La goélette au quai de Tadoussac est le Pixie B et remorquer le chaland qui pourrait transporter deux voitures. Il a été remplacé par un autre goélette, construit par Armand Imbeau, appelé le NBT (Noel Brisson Tadoussac) qui portait jusqu'à six voitures sur le pont. Celui-là a été remplacé par le Jacques Cartier, un véritable traverse! Travel by Steamer Voyage par Steamer Above right 1935 Bishop Lennox Williams Left 1936 Nan Wallace (Leggat) Betty Morewood (Evans) (my mother) Mary Wallace Jack Wallace Michael Wallace Frank Morewood (my Grandfather) Bill Morewood Right Nan Wallace (Leggat) Carrie (Rhodes) Morewood (my Granny) Launch of the CSL St Lawrence 1928 PREVIOUS NEXT PAGE

  • The Bay | tidesoftadoussac1

    Circa 1880, the first Hotel Tadoussac and Dufferin House are built but no church, several houses on the beach Vers 1880, le premier Hôtel Tadoussac et Maison Dufferin sont construits, mais pas l'église, plusieurs maisons sur la plage 1940's - New hotel, large church, houses on the beach but not the same ones! Nouvel hôtel, grande église, des maisons sur la plage, mais pas les mêmes! 1940's - New hotel, large church, houses on the beach but not the same ones! Nouvel hôtel, grande église, des maisons sur la plage, mais pas les mêmes!

  • Tides of Tadoussac

    Tadoussac Historical Photos of the Hudson's Bay Station in the mid 1800's. Hudson's Bay Station, Tadoussac Looking at many old photos I realized there were many of the Hudson's Bay Station at Tadoussac. En regardant de nombreuses vieilles photos j'ai réalisé qu'il y avait plusieurs de la station de la Baie d'Hudson à Tadoussac. Chief Factor Barnston and R.M. Ballantyne at Tadoussac, 1846 Winter was the favoured season for staff movements. This painting (by Charles Fraser COMFORT 1941) depicts three traders arriving at the Hudson's Bay Company trading post of Tadoussac, their new assignment. The central figure is Chief Factor George Barnston. R.M. Ballantyne is the figure on the left carrying the copper kettle and green blanket. Chef Factor Barnston et R.M. Ballantyne à Tadoussac 1846 Winter était la saison préférée pour les mouvements de personnel. Cette peinture (par Charles Fraser COMFORT 1941) dépeint trois commerçants arrivant à traite de la Compagnie de la Baie d' Hudson poste de Tadoussac , leur nouvelle affectation . La figure centrale est le facteur le chef George Barnston . R.M. Ballantyne est la figure de gauche portant la bouilloire de cuivre et couverture verte . These two remarkably similar images show Tadoussac in the early 1800's, when the Hudson's Bay Post stood alone on the bay. Ces deux images similaires montrent Tadoussac dans le début des années 1800, quand la Hudson's Bay Post était seul sur la baie. 1858 ~1868 And then it's gone! Dufferin House is not yet built in this photo, so the Hudson's Bay Station was demolished around 1870. Et puis il a disparu! Maison Dufferin n'est pas encore construit dans cette photo , la station de la Baie d'Hudson a été démolie vers 1870 . (From Hudson's Bay Archives) Tadoussac was a trading post and fishery. It was also the headquarters for the King's Posts 1821-1822, 1831-1851. It was operated by the Hudson's Bay Company during the trading season 1821-1822 and was again acquired by HBC in 1831. Tadoussac had been a trading post since it was founded by Francois Grave Sieur du Pont in 1600. In 1720 it was named as one of the King's Posts. Tadoussac was the headquarters of the King's Posts until the end of the outfit 1849. In 1851 Governor George Simpson noted that due to a decline in the fur trade, it was only necessary to maintain Tadoussac as a fishing post for the summer months. The vessels that had usually wintered at Tadoussac did so now at Quebec, where the marine stores for the district were kept. On April 4, 1859, Chief Factor Hector McKenzie wrote to Benjamin Scott, who was in charge of Tadoussac, and informed him that the HBC did not intend carrying on the salmon fisheries any longer. Early the same year the fishing material was sold to Henry Simard and he also acquired the salmon fisheries at Tadoussac, the use of the ice house, and store during the fishing season. ( De Archives de Hudson Bay) Tadoussac était un poste de traite et de la pêche . Il était également le siège des Postes du Roi 1821-1822 , 1831-1851 . Il a été opéré par la Compagnie de la Baie d' Hudson au cours de la campagne de commercialisation 1821-1822 et a de nouveau été acquis par HBC en 1831 . Tadoussac était un poste de traite , car il a été fondé par François Gravé Sieur du Pont en 1600 . En 1720, il a été nommé comme l'un des Postes du Roi . Tadoussac était le quartier général des Postes du Roi jusqu'à la fin de tenue de 1849 . En 1851, le gouverneur George Simpson a noté qu'en raison d'une baisse dans le commerce de la fourrure , il était seulement nécessaire de maintenir Tadoussac comme un poste de pêche pour les mois d'été. Les navires qui avaient généralement l'hiver à Tadoussac fait maintenant au Québec , où les magasins marines pour le quartier ont été conservés. Le 4 Avril 1859, l'agent principal Hector McKenzie a écrit à Benjamin Scott, qui était en charge de Tadoussac, et l'a informé que le HBC n'a pas l'intention portant sur la pêche du saumon tout plus longue. Au début de la même année le matériel de pêche a été vendue à Henry Simard et il a également acquis la pêche du saumon à Tadoussac , l'utilisation de la maison de glace, et de stocker pendant la saison de pêche . 14

  • Picnics and the Beaches | tidesoftadoussac1

    PREVIOUS NEXT PAGE Été à Tadoussac Summer 1920-1940 Page 3 of 7 Picnics and the Beaches Pique-nique et les Plages Above Adele Languedoc At right Elizabeth Stevenson (O'Neill), Adele Languedoc, Grace Scott, Margaret Stevenson (Reilley) and others Circa 1928 Above Haycart ride to the Dunes Below Billy Morewood building dams with Jack Wallace, Phoebe Evans (Skutezky) and Ainslie Evans (Stephen) Circa 1927 Above and below Phoebe in front, with all the friends, 1930's Above Betty Morewood (Evans) and Jean Alexander (Aylan Parker) Below Jim Alexander Above Phoebe and Betty at the lake Above and below John Turcot, and Jack Wallace Circa 1934 Below Ainslie, ?, Betty, Phoebe, Trevor Evans, ? Above and right Jack and Doris (Carrington Smith) Molson with Verity and Robin Molson Below ?, Emily (Bethune) Evans, Robin Molson, R Lewis Evans, May Dawson and others Below Elizabeth (Stevenson) O'Neill and Lionel O'Neill Nan (Rhodes) Williams Below ?, Joan Williams (Ballantyne), Susan Williams (Webster), Michael Wallace Left Jim, Susan and Joan Williams Below Susan, ?, Joan and Jim Williams, ?? in the White Boat Both photos Pam Smith (McCarter), Verity Molson, Ann Smith (Van Alstyn) 1936 ?, Nan Wallace (Leggat)?, Elliot Turcot, ?, Boll Tyndale, Moulin Baude River? 1938 Nan Wallace (Leggat), Bill Fleming, Peggie Durnford, ?, Elliot Turcot, Bill Morewood, Helen Price, Ron Alexander, Michael Wallace Frances Holland Phoebe Evans (Skutezky) Susie Russell Betty Morewood (Evans) Ainslie Evans (Stephen) 1937 ??, Betty Morewood (Evans), Bar Hampson (Alexander/Campbell), JohnTurcot, ???, Nan Wallace (Leggat), Elliott Turcot, Peggy Tyndale, ? PREVIOUS NEXT PAGE

TidesofTadoussac.com is created by Tom Evans

Please send messages and photographs!

TidesofTadoussac.com a été créé par Tom Evans.

N'hésitez pas à envoyer vos messages et vos photos !

Thank you for your feedback!     Merci pour vos commentaires !

bottom of page